PPC Terminology

​PPC can be daunting – considering every click on one of your ads costs you money. In saying that - it can be very cost effective if you know your numbers and don’t get confused with the PPC terminology.

​Unlike other online other search engine strategies, Pay Per Click is like a tap and the moment you turn it on you start to receive traffic.​

PPC terminology and definitions

Anyone can do PPC! How keeping up to date with all of the terminology can be difficult for small business owns and marketing exec’s. So we’ve put together a PPC glossary to help you move through the learning curve from the PPC basics through to a Pay Per Click Ninja!

Also check out our list of Social Media Terms and Abbreviates.

The best advice we can give to anyone doing advertising irrespective of it being SEO or PPC is to know who your ideal customer is so you can target them and repel tire kickers.

​A to Z of PPC Terminology


Accelerated Ad Delivery is an Ad delivery method that allows advertisers to display their ads as often as possible until their daily budget limit are spent

AdCenter is the Microsoft version of Pay-Per-Click ad network which provides PPC advertising platform for Bing and Yahoo search engines – Now called Bing Ads

AdCopy are actually the headline, its text, and URL of your ad, preferably well-made and designed to sway users to click to the ad

AdWord is Google’s advertising platform, which provides advertisers different ways and formats to target their audience

Ad Delivery is a setting that helps Google know how your campaign ad will be managed especially if you are on a budget, should it be shown throughout the day or in a controlled accelerated manner on a specific time of day when it can be more effective

Ad Extensions is an ad format that can help increase the size or visibility of your ad by including some extra information about your business like business address, phone number, links and some product information

Ad Group are made up of your ads and the sets of keywords and bids that complement each other so your ads will be able to reach or will be seen more by your target customers

Ad Position is the position or order in which your ad appears in relation to other paid ads

Ad Rationing a feature of Google AdWord that helps advertisers in a tight budget to properly spread out the delivery of their ad for the day to prevent the premature depletion of the budget for the day. The other option is Ad Acceleration.

Ad Rotation the ads that you prefer to be shown when you have several active ads

Ad scheduling allows you to choose the hour and day you want your ads to appear to help you reach your target at the right time

Ad Status describes the different status your ad goes through before it can run, status can be Under Review, Eligible, Approved and more

Adwords Editor a software application by Google for managing your AdWord account in an efficient manner that lets you edit and add keywords, ad group, campaign and allows to make bid changes

Audiences are the users or customers that you intend to target in your PPC ad campaign

Audiences are the users or customers that you intend to target in your PPC ad campaign

Auction Process is where Google and Bing rank your Ads based on Ad , Click Through Rate and Landing Page to rank your Ads to determine the price you pay. For further details click here.

Average Cost-Per-Click (Ave CPC) the average amount you have to pay when someone clicks on your ads


Bid is the amount of money a person or company is willing to pay for their Pay-Per-Click ad campaign

Bing Ads is the service equivalent to AdWord pay-per-click advertising for Bing and Yahoo search engines - Need a Bing Ads Coupon

Bing Campaign Analytics is a tool that can help you analyze if your ads are reaching or accomplishing your goals

Bounce Rate is the percentage of users who visit your site and exit without viewing any other page of your site


Click / Click Through whenever a user clicks on your ad

Click-Through Rate helps you determine the success of you online ad campaign using the number of clicks divided by the number of impressions

Client ID is a code of 10 digit string numbers that helps you distinguish your different ad accounts in the Google system

Conversion is a record or list that lets you know if a site visitor actually made a purchase even if the purchase happens after several days the search engine can track visitors up to 30 days. Check out our conversion rate post regarding site design and Bing and good paid advertising. 

Cost-Per-Click CPC is the amount of money advertiser are willing pays the search engine and the internet publisher for every click on your ad

CPM an online advertising pricing model, that charges a cost per 1000 impression or views

Creative is a Banner ad - which can be used on RTB (real time bidding) sites or the Google Display  Network


Daily budget is the amount of money you are willing to spend each day for each of your ad campaign

Data Filters are features that give users the means to see only the data he needs

Day Parting is used to optimize your ad by running them during the most appropriate time that is most profitable to you

Destination URL is the URL address of a page where you are sending your possible customers after they clicked your ads

Display URL is the web address that people see with the PPC advertisements and not the destination URL - this does not have to be a real URL. however it must have your Domain Name in there.

Dynamic Keyword Insertion DKI feature that allows you to design an Ad that includes keywords that are present in the user search query

Double Serving showing more than one or several ads for a company at the same time


End Date is an option when advertisers can set the date when you want your ad campaign to stop

Editorial Review your new ads are usually subjected to an automated editorial review to check if its content and form adhere to policies and guidelines

Exact Match your ad only appears when someone typed the exact word or phrases that matches the keyword that you have chosen. They are usually placed in a [bracket] to signify your intent


Frequency the number of times each user has seen your ad for over a period of time

Facebook Exchange helps bring your services and products to the attention of Facebook users by using the behaviour and information about the sites the user has visited

Frequency Capping the maximum number of times a user can see an ad within a period of time


Geotargeting is a setting that allows advertisers to determine who and where their ads are going to be viewed based on geographical locations and other parameters

Google Adwords it is Google’s Pay Per Click advertising service

Google Analytics is a service that provides detailed statistics, including conversion, sales, and behaviour analysis of traffic in your site

Google Checkout is a service that helps users purchase online by making the payment process much easier

Google Display Network is the collection of all the websites where you can display your AdWord Banner ads based on keyword list, specific position and placements, and specific targeted customers


Hits are basically the total number of times a particular webpage is viewed, including each time it is viewed by the same person


Image Ads are images, graphics, videos and text of ads that are formatted to run in Google display

Impressions the number of times your ad is seen from anywhere in Google network

Interest Categories allows you to reach users based on their interest


Keyword a word or phrase that advertisers use that are meant to match the same words and phrases people use when they make queries for information in the search engine

Keyword bid the amount of money you are willing to spend for every click on your Pay per Click ad

Keyword Insertion a practice that helps advertisers with the insertion of popular actual keywords into the headline or in the description of your ad text. eg {KeyWord:Adwords Training Course}

Keyword Matching Options a setting that helps determine how close a user’s search word should match your keyword to show your ad

Keyword Tool an AdWord interface tool that helps advertisers come up with new keyword ideas


Landing Page is the web page where potential customers are directed when they click your PPC ad; it is important that the page is well made to provide all the right and important information your customers need or might be looking for

Lead is a favourable action that a potential customer makes, like filling up forms, providing email address etc. and this lets marketers gain customer information that they can use later

LinkedIn Ads a self service advertising solution that lets advertisers feature ads on LinkedIn professional network


Managed Placements a targeting method that allows advertisers to specifically choose the sites where they want to place their ad in the Google display network

Match Type there are four match types: broad match, phrase match, exact match, and negative match options they help advertisers control how broad or how exact they want to match keywords

My Client Centre (MCC) a powerful tool available that helps manage large advertisers and agencies that have more than one account


Negative Keyword the keyword that advertisers include in their account to make sure that their ad does not show or get triggered if any user type in the same word in the search engine


Organic Search Result a list of standard or non paid search results that is determined by the search engine ranking using a complex mathematical formula


Pay Per Click an internet advertising method where advertisers place their ads on websites and pays whenever a user clicks on to their ad

Phrase Match one of the keyword matching option where in your ad only appears if the phrase in the search query matches the keyword you have assigned

Placement locations in the Google Content Network where advertisers’ ads have appeared


Quality Score is the score given to your Ads in both Google and Bing Ads. Google's Quality score rating is based on Ad relevance, Expected Click Through Rate and the Landing Page for Google. The higher your Quality Score the less you will pay per click.

Quality Score Definition


Reach the number of people that can be reached by an ad

Real Time Bidding (RTB) an online ad inventory that can be evaluated, bought and sold, through impression, individually and instantaneously

Relevance is the importance and relevance of an ad or keyword to a potential customer

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) it is the Ratio of the total amount of revenue divided by the amount money spent on an ad E.g. $50 / $10 = 5, the ratio is 5:1 this means that every $5 you generate, you spend $1 for it.

Return on Investment (ROI) is the ratio of amount of money an investment gains against the amount of money that are invested in it


Search Engine Optimization (SEO) provides the process that can be taken to increase the number of visitors in your website by analyzing and ranking its content using the organic or unpaid means with the help of the search engine

Search Engine Result Page (SERP) is the list that appears after a user typed a search query, with the paid ads on top of the list followed by the organic or unpaid listings

Search Partners website in the Google search network where you see or display Google AdWord Ads

Search Network driven by search engine, these major search base websites let advertisers feature their ads; it is important to note that if keyword for your PPC is included in the search, your ad will appear

Search Query is a word or phrases a user types in when he is looking for something in the search engine

Search Query Report (SQR) An important feature that provides a list of search queries that activated your PPC ads; this allows the user to review, analyze and develop a new and high performing keyword and discarding the irrelevant queries

Shared Budgets a budgeting option that allows advertisers to provide an exact amount to spend for a campaign in a given day

Standard Ad Delivery an Ad Serving Method that makes sure your daily budget is not depleted prematurely by spreading out the display of your Ad throughout the day


Text Ad is a standard format for an AdWords ad, which is made up of a Headline (limited to 25 characters), two lines of Descriptive Text (35 characters for each line), and a Display or Destination URL (which is limited to 35 characters)

Top Vs Side This pertains to the placement of your ad on a page, it can be placed on top or on the right; its location on the page can affect the performance of your ad

Tracking Code it is a conversion tracking tool that provides a way to follow and see what happens after a potential customer clicks your ad

Traffic Estimator a free AdWord tool that can determine the performance of a keyword based on its local and global search volume; it can also provide its average price and position as well


Unique Visitor is a visitor to a site that is only counted once and will not be counted again for a given period of time


Visitor is the number of individual visits a site receives regardless of how many times an individual visits it in a specific frame of time


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David Robertson

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